About the GSA Site Map Contact Us Disclaimer Home


Australian Capital Territory

Click here for the April 2016 Newsletter

Monthly Meeting

Date: Third Tuesday of each month (Except January)
Venue: Jaeger Lecture Theatre, Jaeger Building (Building 61), Mills Road, Australian National University
Time: 5pm for 5.30pm start
Parking details at ANU

Next meeting

19 April - Annual General Meeting, talk and undergraduate Awards for 2015
Topic: The environment near North West Cape, WA., over the last 35 kas
Speaker: John Rogers
Where: Jaeger Seminar Room at RSES (building 61), ANU.
When: Drinks and nibbles will be available from 5pm in the foyer and the meeting will commence at 5.30pm.

New members are always welcome!
Come along to a monthly meeting or contact a committee member
if you would like to be more involved with the ACT Division committee.


ACT Geological Guidebook, map & GIS CD
The new 1:100,000 scale "Geology of the Australian Capital Territory" geological map, GIS CD
(geological map plus additional data), and ACT geological guidebook
"A Geological Guide to Canberra region and Namagi National Park" are now available.
Please click on the link below to download an order form or contact ACT Division Secretary Tarun Whan for more information.
Download order form

Republished: 'Images in Stone – A guide to the building stones of Parliament House'
The publication provides details on every aspect of the stonework in all parts of the Parliament House building,
including areas not open to the public. Please click on the link below to download an order form
or contact ACT Division Secretary, details below.

Download order form

Student Prizes

Ken Campbell First Year Prize (for ANU students)
Presented annually to the student with the best results in ANU First Year subjects 'ENVS1004 - Australia's Environment and 'EMSC1006 - The Blue Planet' (or equivalent) and who intends to proceed further in courses offered by the ANU Research School of Earth Sciences.

David Blake Second Year Earth Sciences Prize (for University of Canberra students)
Awarded to the highest achieving second year student with a GPA of 5 or more for the first year Earth System Science and Earth Surface Processes and second year Australian Regolith, Landscape and Soils, and Geographic Information Systems subjects.

Mike Rickard Third Year Prize (for ANU students)
Presented annually to the student who was enrolled in a program leading to a degree of Bachelor in the ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences; who has completed three or more of the following EMSC3000 series courses: EMSC3001; EMSC3002; EMSC3007; EMSC3019; EMSC3022; EMSC3023; EMSC3024; EMSC3025; EMSC3027; EMSC3028; and achieved the best result as shown by the award of the highest average mark in the three EMSC3000 series courses in which the student obtained the best results.

Student prizes are awarded annually. The winner receives a cash sum and one-year GSA membership. For information about the prizes, contact the ACT Division Secretary (details below).


John Rogers
Research School of Earth Sciences,
The Australian National University
Canberra ACT 0200

Vice Chair
Doug Finlayson

Patrick Carr

Vacant - Cathy Brown acting

The Capital Geologist (Newsletter) Editor:
Patrick Carr

Newsletter Support

Student Reps
Michael Short

Divisional committee members
Shirley McKeown

Geological Heritage sub-committee
Doug Finlayson – convenor
Cathy Brown
Ken McQueen
Mike Rickard
Matt Townsend
Monica Yeung

ACT Stratigraphy Subcommission
Albert Brakel – Convenor
Virginia Passmore
Cathy Brown

Home Top
© 2011 Geological Society of Australia Incorporated
Please email any comments, suggestions or problems with the site to or write/ring:
Suite 8, Front Office, Level 2, 141 Peats Ferry Road, Hornsby, NSW 2077 AUSTRALIA

Tel 02 9290 2194 Fax 02 9290 2198 International Tel +61 2 9290 2194 International Fax +61 2 9290 2198